Wednesday, 16 April 2014

New Music: The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart- Eurydice

The Pains Of Being At Heart just released a second track titled "Eurydice" from their forthcoming new album Days of Abandon, and just like the first single,"Simple and Sure" the sound is a much cleaner brand of indie pop than anything we have heard from this band in the past. It sounds good, but I am sure going to miss the fuzzy tweegaze of the band's past. Check it out below:

Days of Abandon will be released May 13th via Yebo.

New Music: Xeno & Oaklander- Interface

Check out the latest single from Xeno & Oaklander titled "Interface". The track has a sound that moves them further away from their cold wave beginnings and into more of a fresh synth pop direction. Kinda sounds like Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark.

The song is taken from their new album Par Avion, out June 24th via Ghostly.


Tuesday, 15 April 2014

New Music: Echo And The Bunnymen- Lovers On The Run + Holy Moses + Market Town

Veteran post punk band Echo & The Bunnymen have always been compared-rightly or wrongly- to U2, and one of the trio of new songs they just released will be criticized as sounding a little too much like modern day Bono. "Holy Moses" is an overwrought song about singer Ian McCulloch's religious conflicts, a theme close to the heart of a lot of U2 songs. Fortunately, the other two songs "Lovers on the Run" and "Market Town" are vintage Echo & The Bunnymen and harken back to their Crocodiles or Ocean Rain era musical output. All three tracks are taken from the band's new album Meteorites, out June 3rd via 429. Listen below:

New Music: Ramona Lisa: Arcadia + Backwards And Upwards

Chairlift's Caroline Polachek has been slogging away making crazy good synth pop with her band for approximately ten years now, plus she has been collaborating on songs with everyone from Washed Out to Flosstradamus, so perhaps, maybe, it is time she goes out her own. Polachek has done exactly just that with her new solo project Ramona Lisa. She has released a new album titled Arcadia that she made in Italy last year, a record that was recorded on just her laptop.  Two of the songs from the new album, the creepy video for the title track and "Backward and Upwards", are featured below. Check them out:

Arcadia is out today (April 15th) via Terrible.

Monday, 14 April 2014

New Music: Fear Of Men- Outrun Me + Descent

Great new English band Fear Of Men will be dropping their debut album Loom next week, but before that they have shared a couple of more tracks from the LP. " We first heard their wonderful "Alta/Waterfall" and "Luna" songs back in February and now they have come out with two more fantastic tracks in "Outrun Me" and "Descent". I am looking forward to both buying the album next Tuesday and, seeing them live, opening for The Pains of Being Pure At Heart in a couple of weeks.

Loom is out April 22nd via Kanine.

Friday, 11 April 2014

New Music: Total Control- Flesh War

This is the first I've heard of Australian former punks Total Control, but I've heard their back story has a pretty eclectic history. Immersed in punk and post punk their 2011 LP Henge Beat mixed that sound with electronic minimal wave and house music.  Their latest single "Flesh War" keeps the post punk vibe but their sound has matured. The song sounds like a mix of Joy Division, with sullen vocals in the same way as Ian Curtis, and The Horrors with their trademark fuzzy guitars and gleaming synths. Listen below:

"Flesh War" is taken from Total Control's new album Typical System, out June 24th via Iron Lung.

Wednesday, 9 April 2014

New Music: Klaxons- Atom to Atom

Back in February English dance band Klaxons premiered their first new music in a couple of years with the rave-tastic songs "There Is No Other Time and "Children of the Sun". The band keep the party going on "Atom to Atom", the third track to be previewed from their forthcoming new album Love Frequency. Listen below:

The album is out June 9th via Akashic Rekords/Sony Red.